It’s February already

January flew by and now we are well into February!  I can tell it’s winter around here. And I don’t mean the obvious things like 30 degree temps or brown grass or leaf-less trees.  I mean I can tell it’s the middle of winter because I want to quit home schooling.

Yes, it seems to happen every year.  I catch myself daydreaming about what it would be like to have 7 hours away from my kids every week day.  I am sure that sounds harsh, but it is true.  I know I am not going to send them to regular school, but it is never as tempting as during the month of February.  We are all growing weary of math, math and more math…. Of cold days when I can’t send the kids outside and burn some energy…of refereeing all the bickering and arguing….and math…did I mention math????

During these times, I pray that the Lord would help me!  And I tell myself to get over myself and show some endurance.  Answer one more math question.  Help with one more spelling word.  Teach them how to clean the toilet for the five hundreth time.  Read the history lesson today.  and tomorrow. and the next day.

Oh, and don’t forget to smile!

Before I know it, they won’t live in my house anymore!  They won’t always need me to help them with long division or with how to spell Nebuchadnezzar.  But nothing will be able to replace the TIME we spent together.  Nothing.

So to all the moms out there feeling a bit crazy in the middle of this winter (or maybe it’s just me??? please tell me it isn’t just me), HANG IN THERE!  Let’s show some endurance and take the long view.  It will be worth it.  Some days I am more sure of that than others, but I am choosing to believe that it is worth it.

IMG_4104.jpgIMG_4086.jpg

One thought on “It’s February already

  1. From a mom that sent her kids away for 7+ hours a day….. It’s worth it. The public school system didn’t do unrepairable damage to you and your sisters…(we were the blessed ones) but what you and your sisters are doing is better beyond comprehension. I’m so proud of you all!

    Mom

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

