Settled Heart >Settled Home

Moving to a new place ushers in one question above all others: “Are you settled?”

I have asked it a million times to friends who have moved or to new people I have met in my neighborhood or at church who have recently moved to our area. It’s a logical question. You just unsettled all of your stuff and your life, moved it to a new place, so have you settled it all? Is it all in its place? Do you feel settled in your new place?

And it’s what we all want–to be settled in our homes and with our routines, for all of our stuff to be in the right place. Curtains, books, dishes, pictures, furniture, etc.

I am not settled here yet. And, honestly, it’s been a good process—this unsettling of routine, of familiarity, of stuff. Such a good process.

Being settled is overrated. This earth is not our home, our place to be settled, and I am reminded of this every day when I wake up and need my GPS to go anywhere or when I look at my room and wonder if it will ever be inviting and pretty or when I pass the tool box, open with tools strew on the floor, waiting for another project where they will be needed. This is not our home. Not just this home we moved to in this new city, but this daily life on earth.

A theme of my life has been wanting to be settled. We moved so many times as I grew up that I lost count; from 13 years of age until I left home to get married, we moved nearly every year on average. Cra-cra, yes.

But anything God uses to remind you that this earth is not your home is a wonderful thing. And this recent move for our little family has included that wonderful reminder. The lack of familiarity and routine ushers in a sensitivity to the Lord. I have been leaning in to hear what He wants to say to me. I am reminded that back in January 2016 the Lord impressed on me a picture in my mind. He was scooping me up and carrying me away. Away from what, I did not know at that time. I shared it with Josh and just told him I didn’t know what it meant, but I was certain the Lord would show me eventually. And many times over the past 8 months He has reminded me of that picture He gave me. He has tied the impression with scripture— Psalm 139: 5 says, “You have enclosed me behind and before, and laid Your hand on me.” Psalm 5:11-12 says, “But let all who take refuge in You be glad, Let them ever sing for joy; And may You shelter them, that those who love Your name may exult in You. For it is You who blesses the righteous man, O Lord, You surround him with favor as with a shield.”

And He has surrounded me with His presence. He has been a steady friend and encourager to my heart. I have recently heard a song that has become my prayer—“Set My Heart’ by Vertical Church Band.

When I wonder if I will ever be settled here, I can know that the only thing that matters is a settled heart on God.

Psalm 73:26 “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the ROCK of my heart and my portion forever.”

Leave a Reply

