Now turn north!

I was pregnant for a million years.  Ok, not a million years, but it sure did feel like the days of waddling around were never ending.  I remember when Ruby was 5 months old I found out I was pregnant with Molly. What a surprise!

On Molly’s first birthday we announced that Mack was on his way. Surprise!

Ruby (the oldest) was only 2 years old when we brought Mack home from the hospital. Sweet Molly was holding her own at 19 months and now the middle child.

IMG_0644.jpg

When Josh had gotten all things taken care of so that we weren’t able to get pregnant anymore (or as Mack says, “when Dad got the shot to not have anymore kids”), every month for many months I would STILL feel like I was pregnant.   My mind was just so used to thinking I was pregnant that even though I was NOT pregnant and even though my husband “got the shot” so that we wouldn’t be able to get pregnant, I STILL really thought I could be pregnant.  It took some time and even a negative pregnancy test along the way for me to realize that, indeed, I was not going to get pregnant again.  It was time to move on.  Get some new thinking going on in that brain of mine!

Sometimes our thinking is just wrong.  We know it is wrong, and we know that wrong thinking has led (or will lead to) wrong actions, YET, we make excuses.  We chalk it up to how we were raised or the era we were raised in.  We don’t call it sin because, well, “I’ve always been like this.”   We just keep on making the same choices, keep on walking the same steps.

I recently read 2 Corinthians 10:5, “We demolish strongholds and everything that sets itself up against the knowledge of God and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to God.”

Sometimes we get in ruts of wrong thinking that will eventually lead to ruts of wrong behavior.  It’s got to stop!  I remember a verse in Deuteronomy chapter 2, verse 3, “You have circled this mountain long enough.  Now turn north!”

That’s pretty clear.

So how about you?  Got a mountain you’ve been circling over and over just because this is how you’ve always done it?  This is what you’ve always done ?  This is how my parents raised me?  This is what is most comfortable?  Maybe you’re just afraid to try something new and different or maybe you’ve not give any time for personal examination?

Might be time to TURN NORTH! Find some scripture to apply to your life and demolish those strongholds.

DSC_0006 30.jpg

 

 

One thought on “Now turn north!

Leave a Reply