Summer Beach Camp

We left the house before 7am this morning to drop the girls off at church.  They are headed to Student Life Camp at Daytona Beach, FL. My girls were so excited. I am happy for them; I loved, loved, loved summer youth camp.  I usually went to IMPACT and Super WOW every summer! I am praying that the girls will hear from the Lord very personally this week AND have a great time strengthening friendships.

We had some funny talks over the last few weeks leading up to camp. I am reminding them of so many things—mostly about manners and making sure you take care of your own stuff and to not leave clothes on the floor or forget to hang up your towel like you do at home! And I may have mentioned that I did not pay $$$ for you to go to camp and hang out with boys. 😐 We also talked about humility yesterday at lunch.  I asked them how they can show humility on the trip, and they didn’t want to answer with specifics.  They just said, “You know, be nice to everyone.” Ummm, not exactly, though that is a good place to start. We reminded them (and ourselves!) that you aren’t learning much of anything if you’re always talking. We challenged them to ask other girls about their families or what their favorite thing to do is or anything that might open the door for our girls to learn something about another girl. We also suggested that they let other girls shower before them and to not be overly concerned with their outer appearance. They shook their heads in agreement and told us they would do that. And all I can do at this point is hope and pray that they do! Finding people who are interested in other people, who ask good questions and listen to answers, who truly put others before themselves is extremely rare.  I want to be that kind of person, and I want my kids to be that kind of person. It’s a process, for sure!

4C8D8211-01E6-451D-958C-521DFD2636C2.JPG5A2EAE14-5059-4D92-9A10-13F243305236.JPG9BEF0A6A-4175-4296-88DF-8937D8949342.JPG

Mack and I left and went to Eddie’s Place for some breakfast! He is such a cute date.

IMG_2013.JPG.jpeg

IMG_2016.JPG.jpeg

Thankful for all the time I have gotten with him lately while the girls are off on mission trips and camps! He is a fun one that loves me unashamedly still. I have no idea what our week will look like exactly, but I am pretty sure it will involve sno-cones and Chick-fil-A and throwing the football. And words.  Lots and lots of words.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Pray for my girls when they come to mind! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

