Familiar Falls Fresh

Sometimes the most familiar verses can fall fresh on our hearts and minds.

I love it when that happens and it has happened twice over the past couple of weeks.

The first one is Psalm 119:105, “Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” This whole section of Psalm 119 is amazing and ministered to me this morning.  But zeroing in on the first verse just reminded me of the peace that can be mine when I take one step in the light of God’s guidance. He doesn’t show me a 5-year-plan.  He doesn’t even give me assurance of my next breath, but He promises to always guide us—- through His Spirit and His Word.  What a comfort.

I was reminded that when I first walked in to counseling I had so much anxiety, so many questions and not many answers.  She reminded me that the larger the circle of looking out into the future, the stronger anxiety grows in my heart. I have to bring that lens back into the present and stay dependent on The Lord.  It’s then I sense my anxieties dying because I am not trying to figure out (read: CONTROL) my future.

Trust grows in the tiny steps of putting one foot in front of the other.

Sometimes it seems I am taking leaps and have such clarity that I am joyfully jumping into my next steps.

Other times, I am not sure of anything.  However, that doesn’t change the truth that God is always with me. Shuffling my feet into the next bit of light is ok sometimes. God’s Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.  I can trust Him. His eye is always on me. He does all things well. He is good. Perfect even.

So leap and jump if that is where He has you! Step confidently if that happens to be where you are. And shuffle if that is all you have to offer.  Just don’t stop believing His Word. It’s a lamp for your feet and a light on your path.

(This little post got longer than intended so I will share my other “familiar falls fresh” verse next time.)

Leave a Reply

